Message from the Chairs

It is our great pleasure to welcome all of you to MVA2021, the 17th International Conference on Machine Vision Applications, held in a fully online format. The conference is co-sponsored by the MVA Organization, co-organized by IEICE PRMU and IPSJ SIG-CVIM, endorsed by IAPR, and co-hosted by MIRU2021, a Japanese domestic conference. This is the first opportunity to host the MVA conference as a virtual event.

For MVA2021, we received 127 submissions from 13 countries around the world. Among these submissions, we selected 24 papers for oral presentation and 41 papers for poster presentation, which are all highly valuable to share in the machine vision community, through a peer-reviewing process carried out by the Program Committee. We thank the members of the Program Committee, which consists of 19 outstanding area chairs and 174 active and dedicated reviewers from around the world, for their enormous efforts in the reviewing process and publicity for the conference.

At this conference, four awards will be presented: the *Best Paper Award*, the *Best Practical Paper Award*, the *Best Poster Presentation Award*, and the *Most Influential Paper over the Decade Award*. We believe that these exciting awards will stimulate discussions during the conference.

As in the previous conferences, three distinguished researchers will deliver inspiring talks as IAPR Distinguished Lectures. We would like to express our great appreciation to Prof. Chieko Asakawa, Prof. Alexei A. Efros, and Prof. Ming-Hsuan Yang for accepting our invitation in spite of their busy schedules. In addition to the talks, MVA2021 will also offer three up-and-coming researchers, Dr. Jingjing Chen, Kris M. Kitani, and Björn Stenger, will give tutorials on hot topics that we believe many of the participants will find beneficial to their research.

We express our sincere gratitude to all participants and hope they find this conference enjoyable and fruitful. Finally, we would like to conclude by thanking all the members of the Organizing Committee and the Program Committee, without whom the conference would not have happened, for volunteering to dedicate their time to make this event successful.



Norimichi Ukita Kyoko Sudo (Toyota Technological (Toho University) Institute) General Chairs, MVA2021



Rei Kawakami (TITECH/ Denso IT Lab)



Minsu Cho (POSTECH)

Program Chairs, MVA2021